Citizen Charter/MRRD

Organization Type:




About Organization

The Citizens’ Charter is a National Priority Program (NPP) of the National Unity Government (NUG) that was officially launched on September 25, 2016. The Citizens’ Charter is an inter-ministerial, multi-sectorial NPP, where Ministries have collaborated to provide basic services to rural communities. The key service delivery ministries involved are: Ministry of Rural Rehabilitation and Development (MRRD), Independent Directorate of Local Governance (IDLG), Ministry of Education (MoE), Ministry of Public Health (MoPH) and Ministry of Agriculture, Irrigation and Livestock (MAIL), with oversight by Ministry of Finance (MoF). MRRD has a key role and will be responsible for infrastructural development and strengthening CDCs and Cluster CDCs. The Community Development Councils (CDCs) will be linked to sub-national government to improve communication and coordination from the community to the district, provincial and national levels - increasing Government visibility and accountability. The Citizens’ Charter is an important foundation for the Government’s reform agenda, contributing to a number of priority areas including: Ensuring Citizens’ Development Rights; Building Better Governance; Reforming Development Planning & Management and Developing Partnerships. The Citizens’ Charter intends to improve service delivery by ensuring minimum service standards, provide greater responsiveness by the Government to the people and increase the level of public satisfaction with services. The Charter commits to deliver the following core services across the country over a 10 year period: • Basic health services • Basic education access • Safe drinking water and sanitation • Improved farming technologies and the delivery of extension services • Rural connectivity with tertiary roads • Rural renewable energy


The Central Asia South Asia Electricity Transmission and Trade Project (CASA-1000) is a transformational project with impact in two regions. The project offers an opportunity to alleviate poverty in some of the poorest parts of the world, boosting energy security and prosperity in Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan and Pakistan.  CASA-1000 will facilitate the first electricity trade between four countries in Central Asia and South Asia, based on long-term commercial contracts for 1,300 megawatts (MW) of electricity transmission between the 4 neighbouring countries. This would be the first step in the development of the Central Asia South Asia Regional Electricity Market (CASAREM), a phased plan for institutional arrangements and infrastructure that will bring Central Asia's surplus hydropower resources to help alleviate South Asia's energy shortages and growing demand for electricity. This economic interdependency and inter-regional cooperation can contribute to stability and security in the two regions.

The design of the CASA 1000 project in Afghanistan includes a Community Support Program (CSP) for individuals and communities located within the 4 km wide and 562 km long (1,124 square km) transmission line corridor in Afghanistan who will be affected during the design, construction, and operation and maintenance of the transmission line. The CSP is designed in such a way as to provide among others community support activities and as feasible power projects from alternate sources to the communities in the COI that have no access to power as yet, and where the communities already have power supply, other development projects with a socio-economic impact.  The CSP aims to generate support from these communities for the bigger CASA-1000 project and for their support in protecting it during and after its construction.

Job Title Location Deadline
Head of Vulnerable Groups Division Kabul 2020-05-31
Project Title Location Project Type Deadline